Skip to main content

Who Runs the World? GIRLS.

Reason #1 that your 30's are actually awesome: 

Women support other women


I cannot tell you the overwhelming support that I feel from the women in my life. Like, they have my back. When I feel like I am failing as a friend, mom, wife, counselor, whatever, the women in my life are so encouraging. They normalize my feelings. When I declare that life is hard, they empathize and sympathize. There is no shame in being vulnerable. Either we’ve been there, we’ll be there soon, or we’re actually in it together. We are a strong, united front. We’re a freakin’ tribe.
In my 20s, I did not feel this sense of unity. There was an unspoken competition in the air. All.The.Time. Who has the better job, the first to get married, the nicest house, the most money, the skinniest, the cutest clothes. It was a game of comparison. Gag me. There was a bit of affirmation in knowing that you are better off than someone else in one particular area. Like, “hey, I mean, at least I’m not _______ like Susie.” Bump that. Comparison is the thief of joy, and also the #1 way to lose your friends...and your mind.
I think we all crave connection. We want to belong. We want to have the sense of security that comes with “your people,” your lifers. To be connected and to belong, you have to be vulnerable. You have to show your true self. Unfortunately, your true self isn’t very impressive when you’re in your 20s. You’re fresh out of college. Nothing in this life has prepared you for #adulting. You don’t want people to see that your life is actually in shambles and you have a one-way ticket on the Hot-mess express.
Approaching 30, we are still just trying to figure it out, dude. Life is so cray. But, we lose the shame that is associated with not knowing. We don’t know how to do life. That is ok because we realize that no one else does either. Rather than having some secret competition, we can just hold hands and drag each other through the mud. Then, we can drink wine and laugh about it until 9:30pm and then it’s lights out. You begin to realize what is important. It’s not your image, it’s your journey. Journeys are more fun with your tribe.
I’m almost 30 years old and I can say without a doubt that my current friends are the best friends that I’ve ever had in my entire life. They know ME. I know THEM. We love US.

If you're interested in reading/hearing more about the importance of good girlfriends. Let me recommend everyone's FAVORITE girlfriend: Jen Hatmaker Check out the 'For The Love Podcast with Jen Hatmaker'. Her first series is titled "For the Love of Girlfriends." Such a treat! She also has two books great books that I enjoyed SO much-  "For the Love" and "Of Mess and Moxie" 
Image result for For the Love podcast 
Related image
Image result for Of Mess and Moxie

Comments

  1. All of this and more. You have great friends because you ARE a great friend. I love hearing your voice through your writing. Keep it up!

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

This post is about poop.

I started this blog when I was on the brink of turning 30. I just knew really amazing things were on the horizon. I was on the brink of greatness. This next decade would inevitably be a life-changing, climactic, turn of events kind of chapter in this novel of my life. I turn 31 next week. You know what I didn’t expect my 30’s to be filled with...poop. I can honestly say, I never saw this one coming. Don’t get me wrong, there have been some life-changing events. Some climatic and unexpected turn of events. We’ve essentially started a new life since I turned 30. But, it is also filled with a lot of poop. No one ever talked about this. Jennifer Gardner didn’t prepare me for this in Thirteen Going on 30. None of the reality shows alluded to this dark underbelly of the third decade of life. I’m getting it from all sides. I have a toddler, I have a puppy, and weirdly enough, I even deal with this at work. No, I do not work with babies or at a daycare center, or even an elderly ho...

I Can't Even Trust Myself

I would like to begin this blog with one of my very favorite Aaron K. Beasley stories. Picture this, 2014 before we had Youngie, before we were married. Just a couple of kids living our best life. Drinking beers. Hanging out. Aaron and I decide to go brewery hoppin’ in Athens with his parents. This is also the story of time I pulled down my pants in the living room and tried to pee at the game table in front of Aaron’s whole family. I will not divulge those particular details on a social media platform, but I will gladly tell you over a margarita sometime.  Back to the point of this story-which is Aaron. I learned that day that Aaron is the self-proclaimed King of Athens. Who knew? He has the low down. Knows all the hot spots. Basically a local. He is going on and on and on about all the times he spent there in college with “my boys”. Aaron is so excited to be everyone’s guide to the Athens experience that he needs to approve everyone’s outfit before we depart. “You have t...

Live Life Colorfully

You guys, I know so many of you are over it. You’ve already forgotten about it. It was just another day, and Anthony Bourdain’s death helped to normalize it. But, I can’t get over it yet. I am struggling. If Kate Spade was just your handbag designer, your china creator, your interior design inspiration, then you wouldn’t get it. I know many of you will find this so silly given the other dramas in our world like immigrant separation and the US withdrawing from the UN Human Rights, etc. But I am legitimately mourning Kate Spade’s death. Kate Spade was more than a designer, she was a symbol of joy. Her little tokens, these symbols, the phrases are inspiring. I am pretty vibe sensitive. The symbol means a lot to me. It changes my attitude, my thoughts. My perfume is called “Truly Daring.” I feel a little more Daring when I wear it. My day is a little bit brighter when I drink from my “Eat Cake For Breakfast” mug. I’m bolder when I wear my Kate Spade flats. I feel just a little mo...